Cook County 17th District Map

Campaign Office

14484 John Humphrey Dr
Orland Park, IL 60462

About Cook County

Cook County was created on January 15, 1831. With a population of approximately 5.3 million people, it is the second most populous county in the nation and the 19th largest government in the United States.

It is governed by a 17-member Board of Commissioners. The Commissioners and a County Board President are elected to four-year terms by the citizens of the County. There are eight separately elected officials: Assessor, three Board of Review Commissioners, County Clerk, Clerk of the Circuit Court, Recorder of Deeds, Sheriff, States Attorney and Treasurer. Cook County contains 128 municipalities in its region, the most well known being the City of Chicago – which is the County seat where the central offices of Cook County are located.

Cook County government includes the largest unified court and criminal justice system in the nation - the Circuit Court of Cook County; the largest single-site jail in the United States - the Cook County Department of Corrections; the first and one of the largest juvenile justice systems and facility - the Cook County Juvenile Detention Center; and the third largest public health system in the nation.

County government has principal responsibility for the protection of persons and property, the provision of public health services and the maintenance of County highways.

Services Cook County Provides:

  • Health care for the residents of the County regardless of ability to pay.
  • Courts of law in Chicago and the suburbs in Cook County.
  • Representation of persons charged with criminal offense in who cannot afford to pay for legal representation.
  • Law enforcement in unincorporated areas of Cook County and security in the courts.
  • Marriage licenses and vital statistics including birth, death, marriage, divorce and property records.
  • Assessment of property values.
  • Collection of property taxes.
  • Enforcement of zoning and building standards in unincorporated areas of Cook County.
  • Preservation of forests and recreational facilities in Chicago and the suburbs of Cook County.
  • Oversight of elections in the suburbs of Cook County.
  • Determination of disease and cause of death in unusual circumstances.
  • Veterans’ assistance.
  • Animal control.
  • About the Health and Hospital System

The Cook County Health and Hospitals System provides a wide variety of healthcare services to Cook County residents regardless of their ability to pay. Facilities include John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital, Cermak Health Services, Oak Forest Hospital, Provident Hospital, Cook County Department of Public Health and the Ambulatory and Community Health Network, as well as the Ruth Rothstein CORE Center.

The Cook County Health & Hospitals System (CCHHS) oversees a comprehensive, integrated system of healthcare throughout Chicago and suburban Cook County through its seven affiliates: three hospitals, an ambulatory and community health network, a public health department, a correctional healthcare facility, and an outpatient infectious disease center. CCDPH is the official agency of county government that strives to meet the public health needs of its citizens through effective and efficient disease prevention and health promotion programs. An independent board oversees the CCHHS.